"Knowledge would be fatal. It is the uncertainty that charms one. A mist makes things wonderful." - Oscar Wilde

your creation

the world is beautiful,
but I find you go beyond it,
for me to think otherwise
would be foolish.

the rains from the sky hold
the privilege that would give joy to anyone:
to fall upon your skin and become a part
of the world, you create with a touch.

the tides of the ocean falter,
when they see the beauty
that comes from your fingertips change
into a reality, you create with a promise.

the flowers of the Earth bend
for the energy you provide –
the sun can only dream
of the life, you create with a smile.

the stars in the sky bow
in your presence;
they are unable to compete
with the grace, you hold in a stare.

the roads of the map break,
knowing they can not
change their direction to come
close to the happiness, you create with a presence.

the world is beautiful
and it thinks the same of you,
so honour your gift
and make the world happy too.


I had started writing based on a line that did not make it to my actual piece: “your eyes belong in a throne among the stars.” I was inspired to create something that connected the beauty of the world with the beauty that each individual has. The use of you is very broad in this case as I was not writing with a single person in mind but the many people I know/see who manage to create a different kind of good in the world. If you wish please tell people I wrote this poem to you – the person reading this – because I did. I love exploring different parts of life and nature within my writing after reading a lot of Oscar Wilde; if it is not evident from my blog itself, I am a very avid fan of his. With the piece I wanted to show different elements of beauty that are not purely external as it is everything an individual chooses to do that makes them the person we see them as.

Fun fact: these different comparisons were ordered in the way I thought of them initially, but I changed the order to place the whole “…bend…bow…break” in consecutive stanzas. The word choice was unintentional as I just poured everything out before trying to make it make sense.

 

featured image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
« »